Ayurvedic Nutrition of the Dhatus

Aug 08, 2019

Episode 92

Episode #92 The dhatus are the tissues of the body. Dhatu translates to ‘that which holds together’ because the dhatus/tissues support the body and give it shape, holding it together. The dhatus are made from and nourished by the food we eat. There are 7 dhatus or tissues in the body according to Ayurveda and in this episode, Colette explains the fascinating tissue nutrition system and how the nutrition is a step-by-step process of nourishment from the gross to the subtlest dhatu which is our reproductive tissue.

The seven tissues or dhatus in the body are:

  1. Rasa – plasma/serum/lymph
  2. Rakta – blood, the red blood cells
  3. Mamsa – muscle tissue
  4. Meda – adipose tissue or fat tissue
  5. Asthi – bones & cartilage
  6. Majja – bone marrow, connective tissue, nerve tissue
  7. Sukra/Artava – male (sukra) and female (artava) reproductive tissue

Visit the Elements Healing and Wellbeing website to find out more about Colette’s online services:

  • Ayurvedic Reset Cleanse
  • Online Ayurvedic Consultations
  • Daily Habits for Holistic Health Online Course

Thanks for listening!

Book a FREE 15 min Services Enquiry Call with Colette


Discover and Understand Your Unique Mind/Body Type with this Free Introduction to Ayurveda eBook

Enter your info to receive the free eBook


50% Complete

Discover and Understand Your Unique Mind/Body Type with a Free Introduction to Ayurveda eBook