Ayurveda and the Three Stages of Digestion

Jun 24, 2021

Episode 189

Colette discusses Ayurveda's teachings on gross digestion. Understanding these stages, the timing of each stage of digestion and the doshas involved can help you have clarity around any digestive issues you may be experiencing.

The digestive process starts at the mouth and ends at the rectum and the whole process can take up to 6 hours or more. The timing of digestion depends on the strength of the digestive fire or agni, the individuals constitution and the type or qualities of food that has been consumed.

According to Ayurveda, there are 3 stages involved in gross digestion:

  • Stage 1 - Sweet stage or Madhura Avastha Paka 
  • Stage 2 - Sour stage or Amla Avastha Paka
  • Stage 3 - Pungent stage or Katu Avastha Paka
Visit the Elements website to listen to the other episodes mentioned, just scroll to the episode # below:
  • #92 Ayurvedic Nutrition of the Dhatus.
  • #103 Suddoshas of Vata
  • #105 Subdoshas of Pitta
  • #107 Subdoshas of Kapha
Thanks to Kerala Ayurveda Academy for sponsoring this episode. Please visit visit keralaayurveda.us to learn more.
Check out Colette's website elementshealingandwellbeing.com and her online services: 
  1. Online Consultations
  2. At-home Digestive Reset Cleanse
  3. Online Daily Habits for Holistic Health Program
Thanks for listening!

Book a FREE 15 min Services Enquiry Call with Colette


Discover and Understand Your Unique Mind/Body Type with this Free Introduction to Ayurveda eBook

Enter your info to receive the free eBook


50% Complete

Discover and Understand Your Unique Mind/Body Type with a Free Introduction to Ayurveda eBook